Modular House Build Montage

June 2019

YouTube Video
Modular House Build Montage

A family friend was having a house built, and wanted it to be filmed. He knew I flew quadcopters and asked me to shoot for him.

Our family friend was having a modular house built in the East Bay, June of 2019. I had never heard of modular homes, but they are a fascinating concept. Each piece of the house or "mod" (short for module) is built completely inside a factory. Once all the mods are complete, they're shipped out by truck to be assembled on site via crane like a giant LEGO set. The beauty building the mods in a factory is that all the contractors are in one place - the electricians, plumbers, construction workers, etc. The main onsite assembly process from truck to home was only about 4 days (the rest of the house, such as the deck, off grid water storage, etc. took many more weeks).

I shot the entire video on my Mavic 2 Pro. It was very new to me, and I had little to no videography experience so I was literally flying by the seat of my pants.